City & Guilds is the UKs leading awarding body, offering more than 500 qualifications across 28 industry sectors, through 8500 approved learning providers. We're here to enable people and organisations to develop the skills they need for personal and economic growth. Our aim is to become the global benchmark for workplace skills and professional development. We're doing this by providing the highest quality assessment, learning and career support.

QCTO - Quality Council For Trades & Occupations
The Quality Council for Trades and Occupations or QCTO was established under the terms of the Skills Development Act to oversee occupational qualifications from design to certification. Focusing on occupational qualifications such as machine operators and technicians, the QCTO aims to set the standard for and develop high quality occupational qualifications to ensure that South Africa has the qualified workforce it needs to succeed. The QCTO also assists those who provide qualifications on an occupational level, accrediting them and ensuring they meet the required standards. The QCTO is one of three quality councils that ensure the quality and standards of education and training in South Africa- Umalusi is responsible for institutions reporting to the Department of Basic Education and the Council for Higher Education is responsible for quality at institutions of higher learning QCTO is responsible for defining the labour related needs into qualifications and the quality assurance of occupational qualifications, including workplace training. Training providers will have to show that training is registered, quality-assured and offered with clear quality assurance to show that they are a reputable service provider.

The Culture, Art, Tourism, Hospitality, and Sport Sector Education and Training Authority (CATHSSETA) is one of 21 SETAs established under the Skills Development Act (No 97 of 1998) in 2001.

CATHSSETA was formally known as the Tourism and Hospitality Education and Training Authority (THETA) until 1 April 2012, when we became the Culture, Art, Tourism, Hospitality and Sport Sector Education and Training Authority.

Their mandate is to facilitate skills development within our sub-sectors through the disbursement of grants for learning programmes and monitoring of education and training as outlined in the National Skills Development Strategy (NSDS).

They operate in the following sub-sectors:

  • Arts, Culture and Heritage
  • Conservation
  • Gaming and Lotteries
  • Hospitality
  • Sport, Recreation and Fitness
  • Travel and Tourism